GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

New Proud Lexus owner

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-19, 12:40 PM
turnagain
Driver School Candidate

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default New Proud Lexus owner

Last week I purchased from Alaska, online from a Lexus used car lot in my home state of Minnesota, a 2008 (108,000 miles) GX470 with KDSS. I tried to educate myself as much as I could, including this forum, about the truck and the pros and cons of KDSS. My wife picked the truck up last week and is currently in Kansas City visiting our 31 yr old son. My son will be evaluating the truck for a possible replacement for his 2008 Honda Element. He's a rock climber and travels to Arkansas frequently to climb and his Element just isn't cutting it to get into some of the sites. He would also like to used it in Colorado or wherever. I'm new to using a forum and I would like to ask two questions. I realize maybe I should be using two threads. Please let me know if I should.

First: Did the GX470 come with skid plates on it? I realize, if I have to purchase Skid plates, I have to buy something to fit the KDSS option. Any thoughts?

Second: Premium gas vs regular gas. I have talked to some owners who have only used regular gas. I plan on using premium gas for now after talking to a friend in Alaska who received training on emissions in Alaska when it was required. He told me the electronic fuel controller was programed for premium gas to get max power out of the engine. He said the fuel controller would always be trying to compensate if regular gas was being used. Thoughts?

Thanks from a guy who's looking to get 300,000 plus miles from this truck!

The following 2 users liked this post by turnagain:
Rygar470 (06-11-19), scmcna (07-20-19)
Old 06-11-19, 01:15 PM
MatB
Rookie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Sorry I don’t have any answers for you. I just wanted to say what a great looking GX that is. Nice find.