GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Car dropping problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-17, 12:13 AM
bulletguy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car dropping problem

Hello All,
I'm a newbie here and have question regarding a used GX 470 I'm looking to purchase.
On test drive I felt that Car is dropping down from front on braking and I hear a soft thump when it has gone all the way down. I was able to raise the car up/down using height control, but didn't check if its coming back to N on high speed.
What can be probable cause of it? Am I looking at a huge repair bills?
Please throw some light on type of suspension in 09 GX 470.
Thanks,
Bulletguy.
Old 04-13-17, 08:35 AM
chiph9
Pole Position

Received 728 Likes on 596 Posts

Leaking air suspension. Happens to older GXs. Parts cost isn't too bad, but the labor is relatively high. Some people have been able to swap them out themselves, but you need a special tool to remove the air hose.

If the seller is a Lexus or Toyota dealer, make it a condition of sale that this be fixed. If the vehicle is at another dealer, get the VIN and stop by the Lexus service department and ask for a repair quote, then take that off the asking price.

Chip H.
The following users liked this post:
bulletguy (04-14-17)
Old 04-14-17, 04:12 AM
bulletguy
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by chiph9
Leaking air suspension. Happens to older GXs. Parts cost isn't too bad, but the labor is relatively high. Some people have been able to swap them out themselves, but you need a special tool to remove the air hose.

If the seller is a Lexus or Toyota dealer, make it a condition of sale that this be fixed. If the vehicle is at another dealer, get the VIN and stop by the Lexus service department and ask for a repair quote, then take that off the asking price.

Chip H.
Thank you Chip. H.
Two follow up questions
1) Air suspension is present on Front too?