GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

No Heat and Overheating - Please Help

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-19, 09:00 AM
LegendaryJ
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No Heat and Overheating - Please Help

First and foremost, thank you for reading this past, any and all help is greatly appreciated and valued. This is my first thread.
This is also my first Lexus [1999 GS300] and first car I've done more to than changed the oil on.
My issue is my engine is overheating and there's no hot air blowing thru the vents, only cold air. I've changed the thermostat and put stop leak in - I was losing coolant rapidly. Now I'm not but the car's still overheating. I need experienced owners ideas of what's not working. I'm just beginning to work on my car myself with a few mechanics for guidance and assistance so getting things done won't be a problem but their opinions are all confusing me since stop leak and thermostat haven't fixed it.
Please and Thank you for the help.

Extra maybe good info to know?:
​​​​​​
I got it from an auction and it didn't make it home. Thought it was alternator turned out to be fuel pump (now when 1st start of the day, it takes a minute before it pulls off in drive but is immediate in reverse but that's for a different thread) changed both to new. Drove it for about two days before I noticed I was overheating. Once it overheated too the point the temp went over all the way and then back down to as if it were off. The vsc on and off lights are on. Check engine is on but I haven't gotten it to anyplace with a reader to say for what yet. I Added water after cooling but it was a constant drain. I put stop leak -Bars- stopped the leak but not overheating. Was instructed to change thermostat. Didn't change anything after.
thanks again.

Last edited by LegendaryJ; 02-21-19 at 09:07 AM. Reason: Add info
Old 02-21-19, 09:08 AM
firelizard

Received 422 Likes on 337 Posts