GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Car got hit and I need to find comps

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-17, 05:31 PM
AkumaUCF10
Rookie

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Car got hit and I need to find comps

Hey guys, so my GS got hit the other night by an uninsured / unlicensed numbskull which has been a lot of fun to deal with as you could imagine. Good thing is I have uninsured motorist coverage and my insurance is taking care of a lot of this stuff. The problem that I'm facing is my car is heavily modified, and when I say that I'm really not exaggerating. I'm a mechanic and do all my own work and I've still managed to spend about 7k on the car in less than 12 months haha fuhhhhh. So my insurance knows this and is trying to find comparable vehicles which means cars like mine aka modified manual swapped 6spd GS300's...

I told them to have fun cus they're not common haha but does anyone know of any for sale right now?
Old 10-14-17, 10:51 AM
LOLjasonW
Driver

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

sorry to hear that man. good luck on finding a "replacement"
Old 10-15-17, 07:02 PM
99rx
Instructor

Received 32 Likes on 22 Posts

I work for one of the larger insurance companies and handle total loss settlements on a daily basis. I can tell you, you will have a difficult time getting them to pay for your modified vehicle. Unless you've purchased additional insurance to cover these modifications, then they will likely just pay you the policy maximum for aftermarket equipment which is usually $1k. I can also tell you that they'd probably encourage you to return it to stock because they won't be able to get near what you think your car is worth with these modifications. Feel free to PM me to discuss further.
Old 10-16-17, 09:20 AM
AkumaUCF10
Rookie

Originally Posted by 99rx