ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

1994 ES300 Running Issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-16, 04:17 PM
tgr6
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1994 ES300 Running Issue

I bought a 1994 ES300 with 126,000 in Jan 2016.

It wasn't running due to battery and "Other" problem not found by previous owner.

I'm a pretty good mechanic, but mostly on carbureted cars, so thought I would take a chance because of low miles and good price.

Started with basic tune-up...

6 new plugs with back 3 C.O.P.'s replaced when air horn was off...Air Filter...PCV Valve...Oil Change.

The car did start, but only after much effort.

Hard starting...no power...spit and sputter...mild back fire...would die if given too much pedal.

Checked the front 3 C.O.P.'s by disconnecting wires for engine drop. All front cop's OK.

The check engine light was on now that I had a charged battery and was able to let it run for a while.

I found a link to the codes and the paper clip jump at the diagnostic box in engine bay and under steering wheel to make the light flash the codes. But the light would not flash. Just steadily on.

After snooping around the internet I found a thread to the TPS (Throttle Position Sensor),and wiki of the part on the last line said...

"In case of failure of the TPS operation the CHECK ENGINE light remains illuminated even if there is no problem or error in the ECU. It cannot be corrected by clearing ECU errors by running diagnostic software. In order to rectify the malfunction the TPS needs to be replaced by a new one."

After reading this, I thought the check engine light wasn't flashing any codes because there weren't any codes stored in the ECU to flash. The problem was just a broke TPS.