Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.
Old 12-16-14, 11:47 AM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Cleaning and Detailing Guides
Print Wikipost

Making your own wax at home?

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-14, 08:51 AM
pewterss
Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Making your own wax at home?

So I am curious if anyone on these boards here have attempted to make their own home brew car wax. I have been detailing my cars, and bikes since I was like 15 yrs old and always had a fascination with making things shiney. I have used every product that you can find in any local automotive store. I have even used Zaino products and have been using them for quite some time (8yrs). But as a home/hobby project and of course with some inspiration from Sonic, and Dodo/RB I decided to give this a shot. For the last month or so I have researched the hell out of this and purchased a bunch of supplies, ingredients. Even went as far as contacting some manufactures regarding some polymers to use in the wax. Hoping to find the right receipt that will give my car a super high gloss, and repel water and dirt. Granted I could have just said screw it and buy a batch of Chemical Guys waxes, heard alot of great things about them, but I wanted the experience of doing this. Something I can knock off the bucket list if you want to call it that, especially being a car enthusiast and a super **** detailer. So just in case you have tried it out at home, let me know how it went and if you would try it again? I'll send/post some pics of the wax, and the results from my car once I get there. I am sure it will be some time before that happens. Maybe a week or 2... ciao for now.

Last edited by pewterss; 06-01-14 at 12:48 PM.
Old 03-29-14, 11:39 AM
pewterss
Driver