Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Suspension questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-01, 07:51 PM
dasenzasian
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just got a 01 gs430! and im new to the lexus scene. i was thinking of lowering the car but without sacrificing a lot of ride comfort. i was wondering if someone could tell me the pro and cons of some the springs/shocks out on the market. like how low will it lower the car and how is the ride?
Old 06-23-01, 12:09 AM
GS4Will
Lexus Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Lightbulb ideas

first, congrats and welcome

your choice:

1.l-tune pkg ~1" drop very mild, ~$550. a bit firmer ride than stock

2.eibach springs+bilsteins sport shocks, ~1.25"drop, about the same ride , may be a little more firmer. ~$675

3.HR springs+bilsteins ~1.5" drop, more aggressive look and ride quality.~700

4.or if your budget allows, get the coil-overs(springs and shocks inone unit). they are height adjustible, but in general more stiff. ~$1200-1800

the good part of choosing the bilsteins is that the shocks come w/lifetime warranty.

there are really no cons on either of these pkgs. i can only describe them according to my feeling on diff members' rides. the best thing to do is try to find a person w/mods like any of the above choice, adn decide for yourself.

also go back to as many old posts as you can, we have discussed this topic extensively.
need any more help, just say the word....

william
Old 06-23-01, 12:52 AM
01BlueGS430
Rookie

Welcome to the site!

I just got the L-Tuned springs/shocks/ecu installed on my 430. I loved the ride of the stock gs. Real smooth. That was my main concern when making this change. Luckily I was able to hook up with another member here that let me test out his car w/ the same setup....thx Scott! Anyway, the ride is a bit stiffer. Not as soft as stock. You'll feel the road more, but the car still has a very solid feel. By no means uncomfortable.