SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Mk3 or SC300?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-10, 06:33 AM
Sidesweep
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mk3 or SC300?

Hey guys, figure I might as well ask a few questions now so I can figure out where I wanna head with all this. I'm in the market for a 5 spd SC300 atm, and (seemingly like everyone else) I'm thinking of getting into drifting with it. I've searched to find what I can before I began asking any questions and I understand the different ways power can be had by going NA-T or going with the 1jz-gte (or even a 2jz-gte) swaps. As a novice, I figure I'm going to hit the wall without a doubt at some point, and I realize the Lexus (and even Toyota? correct me if I'm wrong) namebrand probably means expensive replacement parts. I do realize all the necessities of drifting and how it works (driving experience, coils, and LSD are basics among other things: practice and handling before power)
Would a Mk3 supra be a better choice as a starter because of better part availability and lighter chassis, or no? And if I do end up starting with an Mk3 and choose to do a 1jz or 2jz swap, are the swaps compatible between the Mk3 and SC300? (I know I'd like to be able to transfer parts over once I make the transition to the SC3 at some point). Thanks guys, I've been around for a little while and it seems like a great community, hopefully you can help me out .
Old 07-21-10, 06:37 AM
kez
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Driftmotion.com has all u need but in my opinion if u want a mk3 go for it but if u want a timeless drift machine/luxury sports car get the SC
Old 07-21-10, 10:17 AM
Sidesweep
Driver

i mean regardless i'd like to make the switch to the SC300, but as far as a learner i figure a Mk3 would be cheaper and easier to fix, but i'd still be keeping it in the Toyota family.
Old 07-21-10, 10:52 AM
jadu
live.love.laugh.lexus

Received 89 Likes on 71 Posts

get both!! haha
Old 07-21-10, 10:59 AM
timber1426
Pole Position