Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

How to make SC300 louder?

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-16, 07:10 AM
CMG
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to make SC300 louder?

I bought a SC300 back in February as my first car, and have read about people removing the catalytic converters and how that would make the check engine light come on and stay on, and was wondering what would be the best way to make it a bit louder. It's just too quiet in my opinion. Would I be better off just getting mufflers, cutting out the resonators, or both? I like the way it sounds from the back when outside the vehicle stock, but I would like it to be a little louder. Any input would be great, as I am still learning about this stuff and would like to start working on it. Thanks. I'll leave a picture of what my car looks like now.

Sorry if posted in wrong section, or if there are already a million posts like this. This is my first post here.

Old 09-17-16, 07:36 AM
yauny
Rookie

I don't kno where you live but removing the cats would make it louder and yes u will have a check engine light due to the o2 sensors. Removing the resonators will help and removing the mufflers will help. If u wanna get real fancy u could install a electric cut out. So u can drive with it closed and have normal exhaust sound or open it up and sound like it's straight piped. I've hallowed my cats and resonators on my 400 and it's pretty loud removing the mufflers makes it even louder but due to the way the pipes meet at the rear probably not a good idea to remove the mufflers. Welcome to the community hope to see some mods on ur 300
Old 09-17-16, 12:16 PM
ar3
Pit Crew

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Check it out: https://www.clublexus.com/forums/performance-and-maintenance/431267-sc-exhaust-thread.html

i just had resonators removed, custom catback.
Old 09-17-16, 02:23 PM
Chattanoah
Rookie