RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

DIY Success Stories

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-11, 07:58 PM
Mut
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool DIY Success Stories

In light of my recent success with a couple of DIYs, I figure we should have a thread to post all of our success stories from the DIYs we have on this amazing forums. It'll be a good place to share what we did, but more importantly thank the great people who posted those awesome DIYs!

You don't have to post in this format, but I think it would be helpful for other people in case they want to search around in the thread.

Trouble Codes: P0171, P0125, P1133, and P1135
DIY Performed: MAF Sensor Cleaning and Replacing Air/Fuel Sensor
The Story: Several years ago when I was a complete noob, I got the P0171 code, and the mechanic ended up charging me 3 hours of labor and $190 to replace the sensor. Shame on me. Last week, P0171 was fixed with cleaning out the MAF sensor with the cleaner I bought for $8, and it only took me about 30 minutes. Most of that time was spent trying to unscrew a really tight screw.