Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

sc400 misfire help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-16, 08:21 PM
bboykid10
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sc400 misfire help!!!

hi i am new on clublexus! i have been having a misfire issue for 2 months now and still havent gotten it fixed.....the car misses when i start it, when i drive and when it idles in parked. i added techron fuel injectors cleaner and i ran it hard today and it started idle surge and stalled at a redlight with a check engine light on, started it back up and light was gone and idles fine again but still misses. i have replaced spark plugs, spark plug wires, coil packs, coil buttons, fuel filter, etc. also checked for compression and compression was fine. i am new to this car and im in love with it but i am stumped that i am running into this issue. no one seems to want to help me on this car either :l (shaky misfire)
Old 06-26-16, 09:31 AM
JasGS350
Pole Position

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

Welcome to CL. Sorry to hear. You might want to check and see if the timing belt skipped a tooth. I had the same issues, and replaced everything you did, and the camshaft sensor which the error codes pointed me to. I replaced it, same problem. I then put my motor TDC and looked at each cam gear, and the passenger side was off a tooth(white marks on gear and bottom gear cover should line up).. Once I got it back on track, car ran perfect. Good luck, and let us know if this fixed your issue, may help others in the future. - Jason
Old 06-26-16, 10:16 AM
bboykid10
Driver School Candidate

weird question but there is no way to do this without disassembly?
Old 06-26-16, 02:44 PM
t2d2
Lead Lap

Received 229 Likes on 209 Posts

I would start with getting the ECU serviced, if it hasn't been done already.
Old 07-09-17, 02:03 PM
leaderpvp
Rookie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Having similar issue with my sc4 now.(1993)