Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

SC 300 Rebuild with GTE Head Gasket question

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-14, 11:10 AM
Sc3hunnit
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SC 300 Rebuild with GTE Head Gasket question

So just putting this out there, Im new to this platform!

I traded a car for a stock 2jz GE 1995 SC 300 it has 109k on it and the motors out so I started buying parts to freshen the motor up while its out of the car.

Parts:

Cometic C4276 -051 -which is the stock 2JGTE size .051"
ARP studs
new water pump
Gates timing belt & tensioner
and the normal gaskets like cam seal, valve cover gasket...

Im looking to keep the around the same stock compression of the 2JZ GE motor while running the thicker head gasket! Then later down the line when more money is on the table I plan on running a single turbo set up, I m not looking for huge power at the end of the day mostly 350-400 hp range. shes my daily.
All the research ive done I couldnt find anyone rebuilding with at GTE thickness head gasket and staying NA.
Im looking for someone to guide me in the right direction with decking the head and what else I could do to maybe keep around the same compression so its not a dog for the next year. If the solution is simply just deck the head so its straight and just runt the motor at lower compression is that possible... or I could return this cometic head gasket and get one a bit thinner, I just was hoping to see or have input from people that have been in the same situation where your not going to turbo the set up right away but still drive it.

below is the research I have came up with:

My motor: 2JZ GE stock compressions is around 10:1 - 10.5:1

I will also be comparing a motor that comes in a Toyota supra: 2JZ GTE