LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

New to Club Lexus. Strange noise above 3k RPMs.

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-15, 06:02 PM
Moonlight9
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Club Lexus. Strange noise above 3k RPMs.

Hi, all. I've lurked this forum for a few years now, but this is my first time actually contributing. I'm the proud owner of a white 2000 LS. 177k miles and counting on the odometer. I have a strange issue that I can't find anywhere else on this forum (or the web for that matter).

My issue:

Mostly revving above 3k RPMs or so, a high-pitch 'whine' develops. It sounds kind of like air quickly rushing through an opening. You know the iconic 'wind rushing through a poorly fastened fabric flap' sound? Like that. Sorry for the poor description.

It first appeared about a hundred miles after I replaced the fan pulley bearing (I did the work myself, OEM part). It will randomly happen below 3k RPMs, and then sometimes it won't happen at all. 90% of the time it will happen at 3k+ RPMs though. I've put about 15k miles on the car since this noise appeared (it is my primary vehicle right now).

My first suspicion was that I botched the fan pulley bearing job somehow, but the actual bearing doesn't appear to be the culprit and to be honest it really doesn't sound like a bearing. Then I suspected that air got trapped in the cooling system when I removed the radiator hose to access the fan bearing. So I had the radiator replaced (needed to happen anyway) and the cooling system completely flushed. Noise is still there, same as before.

Other things to note:
- It doesn't affect actual performance in any noticeable way.
- Temperature doesn't make a difference.
- The noise is NOT reproduced by putting the car in park/neutral and revving the engine.