LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Entering Destinations Into Your Nav Sys While In Motion

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-10, 01:27 PM
jmcraney
Forum Moderator

Received 277 Likes on 209 Posts
Default Entering Destinations Into Your Nav Sys While In Motion

I want to share some tips for using the navigation system. For those of you who have the motion-lockout bypass there's nothing new here for you. But, for those who see the nav system as just a novelty or useless system because it is not available while you are in motion this might be interesting for you.

I have been using mine the way I am about to explain for a couple of years and when I figured this out it really made the system very useful especially for trip driving.

I do understand that there are limitations however if you can point to your destination on a map then this will work very well for you. It allows the driver or passenger to enter the destination, or change the destination, while the car is in motion, requiring only a single operation that is driver unique, and then all the other operations can be done by the passenger or driver.

1. This is easier done with the map display in "North Up" mode although any display mode that works for you is okay. Most of us drive in the "Heading Up" mode. To get to the "North Up" mode you need to press the compass display in the upper left corner of the display to cause it to point up. This causes your map to be oriented in the conventional north-at-the-top sort of picture.

2. Use the "Zoom Out" soft key on the display to zoom out until you can see your desired destination or the general area of the destination on the map.

3. Touch the map at your desired destination location. A bullseye will appear on the map where you touched it and the map will recenter on the bullseye. If you didn't get it where you wanted then just touch it again.