LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Valve Cover Gasket Replacement Check List

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-16, 05:47 AM
Bullochdaw
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Valve Cover Gasket Replacement Check List

Had a "Check Engine" light come on and showed misfire on #7 and was running rough. Decided to change all eight plugs and coils as it was way overdue.
Changed those Saturday and CE light went off and everything ran smooth again.
This morning the CE light was back on and it was running rough again.
I did notice oil around the plugs and coils when replacing and thought it was just residual.
Now I'm thinking not so much.
Going to tackle replacing the valve cover gaskets (unless there are other suggestions). Have seen a few threads on this and they usually come with "While you're in there, you might as well replace ____" type comments.

I'm a medium skill level mechanic. I usually watch a few Youtube videos and make the determination of if something is within my skill level based on what I see. Haven't watched any videos on gasket replacement yet, since this just happened on the way to work.

From replacing the plugs and coils, it doesn't seem "that" difficult to replace the valve cover gaskets. Am I right, or getting in over my head?

My LS430 has 250k on it. I'm the second owner, so not sure what was replaced before I got it. I'm going with the assumption of Nothing.

So, what other "stuff" should I replace while I'm in there?

TIA
Old 05-10-16, 07:06 AM
911LE
Instructor

Received 228 Likes on 157 Posts