LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

All my crazy Lexus issues SOLVED!! (ECU-leaking capacitor)

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-13, 05:00 PM
Mac2
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Great advice, replaced all 8 ECU capacitors in my 1992 SC300 last month, and I am no soldering expert. A desoldering iron from Radio Shack helped a bunch.

Rough running-gone, smoking gone. My car never ran better.

special thanks to Yamae and LSCowboy.LS
Old 07-30-13, 06:04 PM
LScowboyLS
Lexus Champion

Received 81 Likes on 39 Posts

Originally Posted by Mac2
Great advice, replaced all 8 ECU capacitors in my 1992 SC300 last month, and I am no soldering expert. A desoldering iron from Radio Shack helped a bunch.

yay! woohoo!
Old 07-30-13, 06:58 PM
Yamae

Received 855 Likes on 646 Posts

Originally Posted by Mac2

You are welcome, Mac2.
Thanks for informing your result. It is important that a no soldering guy can fix his ECU and his car runs good now.

The result may affect many others who try to replace capacitors by themselves.
There are many those who hesitate to replace due to the no soldering experience.
It would be very nice if you'd show the detail of your way to do the replacement for no soldering guys.
Old 07-31-13, 01:13 PM
gphilemon
Driver School Candidate

yamae indicated some capacitors may look good, replace them anyway, and why the recommended CAPS are larger than original for LS 400 1996
Old 07-31-13, 04:03 PM
LScowboyLS
Lexus Champion

Originally Posted by gphilemon
yamae indicated some capacitors may look good, replace them anyway,
because they are all of the same make amd model with the defect - Nichicon PF (M) series - and will all be leaking soon enough, and if that were not reason enough, they are all nearly 20 years old, and beyond their service life

and why the recommended CAPS are larger than original for LS 400 1996