Cleared My Headlights

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-03, 02:19 PM
es3windom
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

helllo..

wow! great post!

im a newbie!!... and i dont want to sound stupid but wants the purpose of "baking" the headlights?? .. i really want to clean one of my headlights coz it's soo dirty.. and the other is spotless.. so its kinda embarrasing when im driving around....

if anyone has the link for a detailed "very detailed" instructions pls let me know

do u think a newbie like me can do this???

thanks in advance
Old 02-20-03, 06:31 PM
Baby Lex
Driver

Thumbs up

Baking them pretty much means stick 'em in the oven so the silicon that bonds the plastic lens to the actual assembly losens so you can take it apart to reach the orange reflector.

Great PICS Seattle!! I was very nervous about doing this mod, but I think I might actually take a chance on this. I've taken the assemblies out before, no prob. But never "baked" them. What type of silicone did you use to reseal them with? Is it water tight? Hows the plastic polish working? Do you have to reapply a lot? Good job!! Oh and can you post a pic up with them installed? With the parking lights on and off? Thanks!

Last edited by Baby Lex; 02-20-03 at 06:34 PM.
Old 02-22-03, 12:39 PM
Kyle Harty
Lexus Champion

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Blux, I don't think you'll have any problems with police as long as you leave the orange bulbs in, it still lights up orange just like a normal signal. I've done my rears too and replaced the clear bulbs with orange, also looks like it could be stock. I wouldn't worry about cops with these mods, the chance is almost zero that they'd notice it wasn't stock.
Old 03-07-03, 10:13 PM
Wald GS
O.C. Lucky Strike Fanatic

Good job !! Too bad I'm afraid I'll mess my lights up if I do it....
Old 03-21-03, 09:23 PM
LexLS
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Great job and very informative thread.