Instruction for Installing RX 300 Altezza Tail Light

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-02, 03:12 PM
MrX
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Instruction for Installing Altezza Tail Light

Hi All!

I am a newbie to this forum. I just bought a pair of Altezz Tail Light for my '99 RX and there is no instruction. Does anyone have the proper instruction of installing them.

Thanks!

This forum rocks!!!
Old 10-02-02, 03:53 PM
Handogen
Driver

Default It's pretty simple...

I just installed these last week on my 99RX.

For the outter light housing;
1. Open the trunk hatch (obviously) and remove the two screws you see for the light housing.
2. Then pull gently but firmly at the plastic moulding(it'll break if you pull the wrong way/too hard).
3. Then remove the plastic "screw/rivot" holding the carpeted moulding.
4. Pull that moulding back enough to disconnect the wiring.
5. Then after you remove the light housing, rip that bad boy (the wiring)out of there.
6. Then insert the new wiring through the same hole, and reconnect the wires.
7. Test the lights.
8. Then screw the new light housing in place. replace the plastic screw/rivot, and pop the plastic moulding back into place.

For the inner lights;
1. Remove the carpeted moulding (pull gently but firmly) as you would to replace a bulb.
2. Unscrew the four bolts holding the light housing in place (2 on outter edge and 2 on inside).
3. Remove the housing and put the new lights in.
4. For the inner lights, you will probably have to use the same wiring/bulbs. I did for mine since the wiring on the new Altezza lights was different than the stock harness.
5. Test all the lights.
6. Pop the new light housing in place and bolt 'er back down.