Lighting A place to ask questions about HIDs & other Lexus lights

Phillips 4100K SC300 Retrofit

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-06, 10:35 AM
emoshun
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Exclamation Phillips 4100K SC300 Retrofit

Hello, my name is Jimmy, and I am rather new to Club Lexus, after lurking for a month, I decided to join. I am planning on purchasing a 1998 SC300, and will be sending my headlights to be retrofitted with HID's.

My plan is:

Picking up brand new headlights from Carson Toyota for the SC at $566 for the pair.

Sending them to http://www.illusion-lighting.com/ for the retrofitting to the ECE Spec HID Xenon projectors with the 4100k Phillips D2S bulbs and Hella ballasts. They quoted me $1,000 for the retrofit, and warranty their work.

I have seen their finished results, and it is amazing!

Now, I know a many people out there just want to buy the bulbs, and ballast, and install them into their stock healight assembly, but from what I could tell, that is a no-no. You will have glare, and your cut off line will be nonexisitent. All you get is cops attention, and melted housings...

http://www.intellectual.net says,

..."As far as color selection goes, there are two main color temperatures out there: ~4100 kelvin, which is OEM color, and ~6000 kelvin, which is aftermarket color. By the way, the term 'color temperature' does not have any correlation with the property of 'thermal temperature'. I personally do not see any reason for buying anything other than 4100K OEM, but that's me. Some people like blue light and are willing to pay extra money for extra blueness and less brightness---and thus the 6000K market. I'm sure the reason isn't because people like to see everything on the road in bluescale, but because they want their headlights to appear blue to onlookers. The proper way to achieve more blue/violet in your HIDs is to do an OEM projector HID retrofit and upgrade the projector lenses to ECE-spec"...