Sponsored by:

Speaker or amplifier problem?

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-12, 04:50 PM
AZ49Linda
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speaker or amplifier problem?

If all 4 door speakers are silent but I have some sound from the subwoofer in back & small tweeters in the front doors, does that sould like the amplifier is shot? If I take it to an audio place I don't want them telling me it's something that it's not just to get more money out of me. I'm a real novice at this, so my terminology may be incorrect. I just bought the car & the audio was messed up when I got it. No idea how long it's been bad.
91 LS400
Old 02-29-12, 05:03 PM
mkorsu
Zombie Slayer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by AZ49Linda
If all 4 door speakers are silent but I have some sound from the subwoofer in back & small tweeters in the front doors, does that sould like the amplifier is shot? If I take it to an audio place I don't want them telling me it's something that it's not just to get more money out of me. I'm a real novice at this, so my terminology may be incorrect. I just bought the car & the audio was messed up when I got it. No idea how long it's been bad.
91 LS400
First, Welcome to the club!!!
Next, your issue is not simply solved by your explaination. Do you have a nakamichi or Pioneer system? if you have Pioneer the separate amp could be popped and the sub amp could be fine.
Give us some more info!
Old 03-04-12, 06:51 AM
tneig002
Rookie

As stated before, more information will help, but from the sound of things it's likely your speakers. At least in these cars, a front speaker system with faulty midranges but working tweeters would lead me to believe that the amplifier is ok (although given its age, likely nearly dead anyway).

First give us a little more information, but it's not going to hurt you to take it to a shop to have the speakers tested, at least. As long as you take it to a reputable shop, you should be fine.
Old 03-05-12, 07:41 PM