IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

Advice: new exhaust or new cold air intake?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-14, 11:45 PM
amoarora
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Advice: new exhaust or new cold air intake?

Hi guys, I'm new to this whole club lexus forum and i joined just today and i have a 2014 lexus is 250 awd and i'm very happy with it so far. I haven't done any modifications but i needed your guys's input on something. I want to get a "purr" sound coming from my car and deleting a resonator would make it sound too raspy so thats out of question. I was thinking of a muffler or maybe straight piping it or possible a new exhaust system, but a buddy of mine has a takeda cold air intake system on his is 250 and it sounds really nice. What do you guys think i should do to really get that purring sound. Thanks!!
Old 09-21-14, 03:33 AM
TheShaddix
Pole Position

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

Just get the ark exhaust and call it a day. An intake will initially make you happy, but then you'll be annoyed with the loudness of it (takeda, greddy ,etc). And you'll still want an exhaust. From what I hear, the Ark is the best of the bunch, and you'll never get tired hearing it unlike the ricer-ish intake sound of a takeda.
Old 09-21-14, 05:18 AM
corradoMR2
The pursuit of F

Received 289 Likes on 210 Posts

Congratulations on your new IS! You'll find lots of differing opinions and all well-warranted since most exhaust/intake setups create a great sound.

I have a 250 AWD and am very happy with the combination of the Takeda intake and the Magnaflow axle-back exhaust as it's also an excellent bang for the buck. Burly deep sound without being over the top. And no drone. I have videos you can check out and decide for yourself in the Performance section such as this: https://www.clublexus.com/forums/per...exhaust-2.html