IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

2008 IS250 ECU - Used replacement

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-15, 03:53 PM
urben
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2008 IS250 ECU - Used replacement

I am completely new to the Lexus world and am feeling like a bit of a dummy. I've worked on my cars for many years, mostly with the aid of forum and youtube posts, but my wife's 2008 IS250 is stumping me. I've searched for quite some time on this forum and what feels like the entire internet, but nada, so here goes:

The car won't start, tried to connect an ODBII scanner and it won't connect. Tried another ODBII scanner and same thing. These scanners work on my other cars. Checked all the fuses everywhere and (skipping some steps here for brevity's sake) we figure it's got to be the ECU (aka EMU?, Engine Control Computer) and the next step is to replace that with a used one. My question, finally, is does the ECU need to be reprogrammed (for the key fobs, VIN, etc)? or is this a plug and play sort of deal.
Old 04-01-15, 11:15 AM
MrHarris
Intermediate

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

Is it your steering that's out? I have a 2008 Lexus IS250 steering ECU I just took out you can have. Replaced it with 2012 IS-F Steering ECU.

The steering ECU is located underneath the car battery. Check and see if theres any wires that melted.
Old 04-01-15, 11:39 AM
urben
Driver School Candidate

Thanks for the reply, MrHarris, but it's not the steering that's out. The car just won't start and I am unable to "talk" through the ODBII port with 2 known good scanners. I've also had a mechanic troubleshoot the car and he has narrowed it down to the ECU. Now, I just need to figure out how this whole ECU replacement thing works since I don't want to spend the $1000+ the dealer wants to do it.
Old 04-01-15, 12:58 PM
Gville350

Received 435 Likes on 387 Posts