Sound System Advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-15, 08:04 AM
Tro209
Lexus Champion

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Sound System Advice

Hey all,

Just wondering, is it possible to get better sound out of the Mark Levinson in my 06 IS350 if I were to replace the stock ML amp?

I remember reading somewhere that the stock speaker in the ML are actually of a good quality and I figured maybe I could just swap the stock amp for an aftermarket one. Is this possible? Would you recommend I do this?

Keep in mind that I am talking about the door/dash speakers and NOT the subwoofer. My subwoofer blew out and I already have plans to swap in a Kicker CompR but figured I might as well upgrade everything at once lol

All advice is greatly appreciated as always
Old 03-05-15, 08:34 AM
getafewliv
Lexus Test Driver

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I'm no expert, nor do I have ML speakers, but generally the stock amp and speakers are paired together to provide quite decent sound quality. I doubt just swamping the amp/amps would make the system sound better, especially for the money and hassle it would take. I would say either go all out and do speakers as well or just put in a better sub woofer.
Old 03-05-15, 04:08 PM
srt1
Lead Lap

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

I cant stand stock anything. I have almost all my components and will do a new lift on the system. Wish I had more info on the amp but if u upgrade the amp you're bound to blow ur mids, if you like it loud like me. Stock speakers can handle only so much. I havern't done the research to what they can handle, powrer, but i'm sure it's not much with an upgraded amp. I've heard that the whole system is decent for it being manufacture quality but too me it sucks. Lol. Hope I didn't offend anyone but it's jus my opinion.
Maybe someone can chime in with better knowledge.
Old 03-06-15, 11:33 AM
Tro209
Lexus Champion

Originally Posted by srt1