IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

Blown Cigarette Lighter Fuse

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-16, 05:40 PM
CobraGSF
Lead Lap

Received 41 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Blown Cigarette Lighter Fuse

While putting air in my tires via my little compressor pump. The fuse blew. Tried the compressor on my other car and it worked fine, so its obviously the cigarette lighter fuse. Google tells me its a quick and easy fix, but has anyone encountered this problem on these cars? Also can I just buy any 15 watt/amp fuse and replace it or should I go to lexus. Any advice or insight would be appreciated as I have never done this before, so I definitely don't want to screw up my electrical system trying to do it myself.

Thanks
Old 09-08-16, 06:12 PM
gpxluke
Former Sponsor

Received 38 Likes on 23 Posts

Originally Posted by shivad87
While putting air in my tires via my little compressor pump. The fuse blew. Tried the compressor on my other car and it worked fine, so its obviously the cigarette lighter fuse. Google tells me its a quick and easy fix, but has anyone encountered this problem on these cars? Also can I just buy any 15 watt/amp fuse and replace it or should I go to lexus. Any advice or insight would be appreciated as I have never done this before, so I definitely don't want to screw up my electrical system trying to do it myself.

Thanks
Your fuse box should have some spare fuse to use. I would get OEM fuse if I were you.
Old 09-08-16, 06:43 PM
CobraGSF
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by gpxluke
Your fuse box should have some spare fuse to use. I would get OEM fuse if I were you.
How would i be able to find a spare fuse? i guess look at manual? Also would i just pull that fuse and replace it where the blown cigarette lighter fuse is?
Sorry for the noob question but i really have no idea about this lol
Old 09-08-16, 07:51 PM
E46CT
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2,080 Likes on 1,571 Posts

Thanks