HS 250h Model (2010-2012)

HS250 / Convertible conversion project

Old 12-14-13, 07:15 PM
Engineer
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation HS250 / Convertible conversion project

Hello HS250h owners. I joined here hoping to become a HS250h owner myself. (I am a driver of two different Prii presently.) I know that the HS250h is sadly no longer in production. What I am looking for is rather unusual though, so let me explain.

I plan to use the HS250h I eventually purchase as the basis of a conversion. I plan to combine the chassis and mechanical parts of the HS with the body and interior of an old convertible I have owned for many years to create a hybrid convertible. (I hope I'm OK to be a member then!) They both have the same wheelbase, same tread width, and the same outside diameter of the tires.

I am a machine design engineer with 30+ years in the industry, and work in the heavy vehicle market segment (transit bus manufacturer.) Designing modifications and reverse engineering is what I do daily 40 hrs/wk. This project has me really fired up, and I am trying to learn as much as I can while I search for the HS I need.

In actuality, the HS I finally buy can have a collapsed roof and/or hail damage with no problem. For my project, I won't be needing the seats, doors, bumpers, hood, trunk lid, windows, light assemblies, air bags or interior trim. I will need all of the electrical parts and controls, Mechanical parts, HVAC components, batteries, chassis structure with firewall and suspension.

I hope I am welcomed here, since I have a lot to learn about the HS that I hope to find. It was my thought that this would be the best place to meet the most knowledgeable people on all things HS.

Bill the Engineer
Ohio
Old 12-15-13, 05:05 PM
TheAirman
Lead Lap

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by Engineer