GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

quick brake nub question

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-12, 12:08 PM
luda42688
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default quick brake nub question

Whats going on guys. One of my brake pads just started to squeek like a **** so its time to change all corners. My question is would you normal get a "fit kit" and "shim kit" every time you change them out. I figured they would be 10-15 bucks since its just a couple thin pieces of metal but 68 for shims and 40 for the fit? uhmmm wtf??

Also what type of brake pads would you recommend, I'm a fairly aggressive driver when I want. I was thinking OEM or Akebono since i do a lot of daily driving and i dont get to crazy in the gs. Although i heard the Akebono has a pretty low stopping rating.

thanks
Old 03-21-12, 06:05 AM
luda42688
Lead Lap

hmm no comments no rage saying GO SEARCH YOU NUBZORSSS..... Anyway I would normally run the old shims and with some anti squeek grease combined with whatever pads i can get my hands on.... but since i decided not to be a hack anymore and just do it right once, i figured id ask what you guys do.
Old 03-21-12, 06:36 AM
99 GS3
Lexus Champion

Received 32 Likes on 28 Posts

Has not even been a day and your complaining about no reply? And yeah there are tons of brake pads threads here too..

Otherwise reusing the shims if they fit the new pads correctly is not really being a hack. It's just a chunk of metal, it's fine and yes use brake grease.

You say your a fairly aggressive driver and then say you don't get crazy..??

I've always had great luck with ebc's in stock braking systems, for most applications they are typically moderately priced and long lasting. The OEM's can be had a decent prices online as well.

Generally when you get into other brands of super aggressive pads the quicker they wear and the more noise they make.
Old 03-21-12, 07:25 AM
luda42688
Lead Lap