GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

First time Lexus buyer

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-16, 02:37 PM
RuthlessM
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time Lexus buyer

So im currently a college student in the market for a new car. I obviously dont have enough money for a newer gen car. I would rather buy an older year and fix it up.
So ive been researching up on a 1998-2001 GS 400 and ive been impressed with the reviews. In Las Vegas there are not many of those around. I have found 2 total on the market. I need some opinions on either of the options.
1. 98' riding on 19s
202k miles
Current tag
Owner is claiming to have title in hand
Asking $2,000

2. 99' all stock
180k miles
Private dealer
Claiming nothing is wrong with it what so ever
Asking $4,995

Both are white.
Both are tinted at 10% or more

3. Wait for something else

I dont mind replacing the engine iin the future.
Also I do need some tips on buying a car IF I do decide on the private seller.
Let me know what you think.
Old 02-15-16, 03:54 PM
Brahms
Rookie

My $.02: Keep an eye out and wait for something else.

1. Anything that seems too good to be true probably is. Be sure to have a reputable Lexus mechanic check the car out for all the usual issues (front suspension, etc.). Check the regional forums for advice on whom to see for an inspection. You'll also want proof that the timing belt (ie, the 90k service, if I recall correctly) was done. I've heard visual inspection is not very reliable on these cars.
2. As someone mentioned on the GS400 vs ES330 purchasing advice thread, the car you are shopping for is old, and no amount of maintenance can overcome the ravages of time. Be mindful of this.
3. 2001 model year was GS430, not GS400. Not sure you care, but if you do you may as well expand your search a couple years. 2001 saw the removal of the e-shift buttons on the steering wheel (or whatever they're called).