GS - 1st Gen (1993-1997) Discussion about the first generation GS300

Electrical Problems?

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-05, 09:06 AM
lexurious1
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Electrical Problems?

Does Anyone Know Anything About The Electrical Wiring In Our Cars? Heres My Dilema....i Just Had A Brand New Alternator Put Into My Gs300 The Day Before Yesterday. Yesterday When I Got To The Office The Battery Light Was On? After Work I Got Into The Car And It Wouldnt Start? I Jumped Off The Car And Just Barely Made It To The Mechanic. I Have A Yellow Top Optima Battery In The Car. The Mechanic Replaced The Alternator With A Brand New One But I Still Have The Same Problem...he Said It Has Something To Do With The Electrical Wiring? Now I Installed My Own Stereo System But I Know I Have Done That Right...i Have Been Installing Car Audio For 6 Yrs Now. Does Anyone Know Where I Might Begin To Look For My Problem? My Car Has Done This To Me Before, However, It Just Seemed To Fix The Charging Problem By Itself? Does Anyone Have Any Suggestions...i Just Want To Fix It And Be Done With It? Someone Suggested That I Put My Optima Battery In The Trunk And Run The Car Off A Regular Battery? Any Suggestions Would Be Greatly Appreciated.
Thanks Everyone That Reads This!
Old 03-11-05, 11:08 AM
turbogs300
Lead Lap

Cool

Put a voltmeter on the battery make sure you have 13.9 to 14 volts at idle or 1000 RPM. Check voltage with engine off should be 12 volts minimum. Do you have an underdrive pulley, if so that's your problem. The car probably won't charge till it hits 3 or 4 thousand RPM'S and it will not be enough. Been there and solved that problem.
Old 03-11-05, 11:43 AM
lexurious1
Rookie

Default ???