Wheels, Tires & Brakes Forum Where else do you go for wheel, tire and brake information?

tire preference

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-06, 02:59 PM
doc s
Driver

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default tire preference

Greetings!
I'm new to this venerable group, having just purchased an '02 SC430 with 34,500 miles on it. Lexus was great with providing the service record when I gave them the vin #.
I want to get the Bridgestone run flats off this thing and replace them with either Goodyear Eagle F1 GS D3's or Michelen Pilot Sport PS 2's. Anybody have have a preference or experience to share?
By the way, the 430 is red. I just had the tranny fluid flushed and had Red Line synthetic put in the crankcase.
Cheers!
Old 04-26-06, 03:11 PM
GEE-BEE
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 06 430 tire"S

I have the pilot sport's !

Good looking tire and ride, Iam running 20's

Best price was tire rack, I have some stock 06 shocks if you want a better ride for your SC

Gee-Bee
Old 04-26-06, 06:16 PM
camillian
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am also running PS2's
Old 04-26-06, 09:53 PM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 184 Likes on 143 Posts

the ps2 is aweome times but watch out on the wear, they wear out pretty fast from the reviews i have read. but for sure their performance is way up there
Old 04-27-06, 04:18 AM
doc s
Driver

Thanks! I'm not going to the track or anything. I'm just driving this around much like I did my ES330, using it for commuting to work and running around (and looking good..let's face it!)
What would you recommend for ride comfort, low noise and a general high performance tire that will last a reasonable number of miles?
Old 04-27-06, 07:01 AM
4TehNguyen
Lexus Fanatic

Received 51 Likes on 46 Posts

in Dec 05 Car and Driver test, the Goodyear F1 GSD3 (1st place) beat the michelins PS2 (4th place) and they are less expensive

http://www.goodyeartires.com/eagle/p...3_article1.pdf (takes a while to load)
Old 04-27-06, 10:35 PM
rominl