Wheels, Tires & Brakes Forum Where else do you go for wheel, tire and brake information?

Is it possible to exchange inner barrels on lowenhart rims?

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-05, 04:53 PM
lightwave76
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it possible to exchange inner barrels on lowenhart rims?

ok here is my situation.

I have a 19x9 Lowenhart BS5 where the inner barrel is damaged and cannot be fixed. (I've tried...)

So I'm wondering if I take a BR5 rim have it dissasembled and use the BR5 inner barrell on the BS5 would that work out?

Since the BS5 is a 3 piece and so would the BR5 I see no issue, but I'm no rim expert.

Anyone know if this would work?

If not I'll end up selling 3 Lowenhart BS5 rims. The thing that really sucks is all the rims are inner and outer polished and now one is no usable.

thanks guys,
Chris
Old 06-23-05, 07:41 PM
blueGS400
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if the rims is the same offset and width EXACTLY,,,,,,, then it will work, i did the same thing to one of my LD1 wheels, the outer lip was messed up and dazz will not sale just the lips so i had a br5 display wheel, with perfect width and offset, i disassembled both and switched them out,,,,make sure that you use aircraft quality silicone when resealing them and be sure to line up the bolts right before it dries, after u run a bead, then take a window tint squeegie and smooth out the bead over the two barrells,,,,,,,,,,i prefer to assemble the wheel completely before running my silicone bead but thats just me,,,,,,,,,,also you need to torque the wheels to 25-27 pounds, and no more or you will snap the bolt heads,,,,,,
Old 06-23-05, 09:14 PM
lightwave76
Lexus Test Driver

Bluegs400

Thanks for the info. I guess I know what I have to do then... Find or buy a rim..
Old 06-24-05, 09:04 AM
lightwave76
Lexus Test Driver

well I found out a replacement rim will cost me around $1100.