is california really running out of water? - ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion

The Clubhouse The Clubhouse is an area where we can post topics on all kinds of things that are not necessarily related to 'Lexus'.

is california really running out of water?

Old 03-15-15, 12:51 PM   #1
bitkahuna
resisting entropy

Question is california really running out of water?

The LA Times has a dramatic article on the state of water in the state of California.

http://www.latimes.com/opinion/op-ed...313-story.html

famers in the central valleys have been drilling wells at a furious pace to get water for their crops (many forget what a giant part of the state's economy agriculture plays) and that water pumping has drained a LOT of water out of water reserves. i'm no expert on this but it does seem pretty serious.

i thought california was going to be implementing a lot of desalination plants... did that happen?

either way, are any of you living out there concerned by this?
bitkahuna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-15, 02:05 PM   #2
RXSF

Very concerned about the general state of California's water resources. Our agricultural economy uses a majority of our water and they have been taking ground water at an unprecedented level. I read somewhere that the entire central valley is sinking a few inches per year because of this.

For those people who dont know, California relies on our snowpack in the sierra mountains to deliver us clean and fresh water year round as it melts in the summer. We have had very weak snow in the past three years, as well as rain. This year, we have not had steady rain, but instead torrential downpours which have allowed us to hit the average rain for our state. However, this has caused so much flooding as most of it just runs off into the Ocean. Also rain is not as important to us as snow. When I went snowboarding this year, it was all dry, no snow in sight except for at the ski resorts which now make their own snow.