Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Good idea to lower my commuter gs300?

Old 05-05-14, 01:33 AM
joshyee
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good idea to lower my commuter gs300?

Noob here. Did a bit of research on lowering cars. Just want to get some reassurance from you guys.

don't want to lower for stance or anything. Plan on putting some nicer 18, 19 or 20 inch wheels on it and I figure a 1.5 to 2 inch drop would top it off(idk I'm guessing). And i would really like to keep the smoothness of the ride if possible. But main concern i have is if it's a good idea to lower my gs which is also my commuter/family car. Drive to work is a good 15 minute street 15 minute highway for one trip. This car will be driven a lot. Big reason why I bought her was the reliability and durability. Of course I'll be doing regular maintenance and all that. Will lowering add more problems with all the driving? Tires wear faster I would assume. Is that all? From my tiny bit of research, if I want to keep the smoothness I better save up for coilovers. Safe to assume just getting lowering springs won't help with all the driving it'll be doing or help keep a smooth ride.

If it isn't a problem lowering, what's a recommended rim size, (I'm fine with 18 or 19s) tire width, offsets, and coilover kit to fit the needs of a commuter. These 16 inch stock rims with curb rash has to go.

Sorry, was searching around didn't find a question like this. Might be common sense to most but I have no idea and just want to make sure. Thanks.
Old 05-05-14, 10:13 AM
DriftOner
Rookie

I've got 18's on my GS that I have lowered as far as my tein comfort sports will go. The ride is just like stock but with a little added performance. I don't scrape on anything. Love every minute of driving it. I drive it probably 50 miles each day to work and back.
Old 05-06-14, 08:09 AM
RoMiLex
Driver