Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Anyone done control arms/upper ball joints?? Need advice!

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-13, 01:50 AM
Lukas99GS
Instructor

Received 32 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Anyone done control arms/upper ball joints?? Need advice!

Lexus has reccomended I do the upper ball joints, which I've come to understand you have to buy the entire control arm to do, Lexus wanted 1660$ to do them, it seems like they'd be fairly easy to replace at least right? I'm no mechanic but i can do basic projects, my big question however is has anyone bought any besides oem? It's sounding like oem control arms are in the 500-600$ range a piece, I thought I saw some on rockauto for 150ish but I could be mistaken, I guess I'd just like to know if aftermarket parts would degrade the ride quality of the car I like to buy oem but I'm on a budget at the moment, but if anyone's had problems with aftermarket ill save for the oem.
Old 08-12-13, 10:21 PM
DarKnight
Lexus Champion

Received 52 Likes on 38 Posts

I did mine with aftermarket control arms and the quality seems to be on par with the OEM ones. Save yourself the cash from the overpriced OEM ones. The job isn't difficult either especially if you're on stock suspension. The only snag I ran into was that I have aftermarket springs on the stock shocks so I had to remove the shocks because the bolts wouldn't come out completely since the springs are more compressed.
Old 08-13-13, 10:48 AM
repugnante
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by DarKnight