Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Replacing a caliper difficulty?

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-13, 07:18 PM
Lukas99GS
Instructor

Received 32 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Replacing a caliper difficulty?

My front drivers side caliper has been jammed up for quite some time so I've basically been raking with 3 brakes, I think it's caused the opposite tire to wear faster though, Lexus wanted like 4xx$ for a new caliper, I've never done this before is it fairly easy to do, I'd really rather not pay that. Thank you
Old 08-07-13, 08:03 PM
joeyfett
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Sounds like a good excuse for an LS400 brake upgrade ;p
Old 08-07-13, 08:28 PM
guardrail9
Rookie

jammed up like stuck out? the only tire wear a brake will really cause is if the tire is straight locked up. check that alignment. but anyways replacing a caliper is pretty simple pull the caliper off the bridge don't let it hang on the brake hose because you can damage the hose.

- have new caliper ready for install
-remove banjo bolt from old caliper (might be easier to brake loose when its all on the bridge)
- discard old caliper
- make sure there are two copper washers on the banjo bolt on each side of the brake hose
-bolt banjo bolt into new caliper the same way it came off
- check brake fluid level in the master reassemble caliper onto bridge and then bleed brakes

also a tip prolly best to replace both calipers on same axle so its all new and good and depending on your pads replace those too since seized calipers tend to destroy pads.
Old 08-08-13, 06:13 PM
iamkhanz
Lead Lap