Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Need Advice on Lowering my IS350 - Springs vs. Coilovers

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-09, 08:56 AM
brociouz
Uber 1337 Moderator

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Need Advice on Lowering my IS350 - Springs vs. Coilovers

So let me preface this by saying I'm a big car suspension newbie, so if I say anything outrageously stupid, please forgive me.

I'm looking to lower my 2006 IS350 but don't want to sacrifice that silky smooth Lexus feel. I guess the only real options are lowering springs and coilovers (air is probably too ridiculous for what I'm looking to do). Are there any big advantages of coilovers vs. lower springs other than adjustability? I've tried doing some research and a lot of people are saying coilovers are overkill unless you head to the track a lot. Thoughts? Any suggestions on specific products? Thanks!
Old 12-31-09, 09:32 AM
edgeucated
Pole Position

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

on coilovers you can also adjust how stiff it is. on springs your stuck with only one setting. so if money isnt a big concern coilovers would be your best bet
Old 12-31-09, 11:17 AM
phongh
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Get coil and don't waste your time on springs.
Old 12-31-09, 11:20 AM
xuningshen
Lexus Test Driver

if you got money, coils, if you cant' afford it, springs. complete coilover always better than springs, tien SS comfort sports are really soft
Old 12-31-09, 11:42 AM
gc86
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts