Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

lowering car while retaining silkysmooth LEXUS ride?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-09, 08:56 PM
ek9max
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lowering car while retaining silkysmooth LEXUS ride?

So I'm new to the leuxs world. I just bought a 2001 GS430 navi. It's mainly for my daily driver/winter day. I got an all out racecar turbo S2000 for my summer/fun car.

Anyways. I LOVE this GS430 a lot so far. I love how it rides and how it looks, and teh quality. HOWEVER.... I cannot stand for the near 4" gap on the front wheels.....

In all my experience with tuning cars, wheneer i lower the car the ride quality goes to crap... (but handles better in most cases)

So my question.... can i lower the car and still maintain the awesome Lexus ride quality????

I don't want to spend a top of money on this. So I just wanna know what are teh best spring/strut combo that still ride nice??

Any or all suggestions welcome!

Thanks in advance
Old 03-24-09, 10:25 PM
HGill
Pole Position

Daizen springs with KYB shocks, very smooth ride and about 2 inches lower.
Old 03-25-09, 06:29 AM
kamlung
Instructor

Received 38 Likes on 31 Posts

if you do a subtle drop (1"-1.5") you can retain your stock struts... eibach, tte or tein should give you an oem feel still...
Old 03-25-09, 12:41 PM
lilsharky
Pole Position

you can get tein cs but it'll run you about 1400
Old 03-25-09, 04:20 PM
jspecdan
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Been riding on this setup for a little less than a week:
KYB GR-2 from Tirerack.com
Tanabe DF210 from LuxuryMods.com
Old 03-25-09, 05:40 PM
raytseng
Instructor

Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts

Pick your tires carefully, and don't get large rims. That's also important to preserve the ride characteristics.
Old 03-25-09, 05:48 PM
4ntvings
Lexus Fanatic

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

the right coilovers with comforting spring rates