Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

newbie in trouble with brakes

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-07, 07:17 AM
japscrap
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie in trouble with brakes

hello all.
i'm a newbie to this forum but if my exploits over the last six months of GS300 ownership is anythng to go by, i'm going to be a regular!!

boring background bit - if you have some knowledge, i could really use your opinion
a few thousand miles ago i got all discs and pads changed as a result of warped old discs. got spurious new discs and pads all round and had my brother fit them. the car was ultra smooth and quiet for a few days but slowly it started getting wobbly when driving again. it also pulled to the left under braking and the wobble goes crazy. it also developed a graunching noise from the right hand side (rhd car). the noise can only be compared to the creaking noise you get from the pedals of an old bike and it is definitely cyclical as the noise slows down as the car slows down.

my brother diagnosed the car as having warped new discs. he demonsrated this by removing the wheel, removing the pads and tightening the discs back on with the wheel nuts. as the discs rotated, you could not only see them wobble, you could see that the 'walls' of the disc were actually thicker and thinner in places. rang motor factors and they agreed to take the discs back.

however, he also diagnosed the cause of the graunch as being related to worn brake pad carriers and/ or their bolts. he re-assembled the car but left the carrier bolts loose. only slight wobble in steering, no more graunching and no more pulling to the left/ wobbling. he was happy with his diagnosis so he tightened the carrier bolts and the car returned to 'normal'.

now the question,