Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

4 months later - Impressions of StopTech BBK

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-04, 07:22 AM
Hameed
EV ftw!!!

Received 213 Likes on 117 Posts
Default 4 months later - Impressions of StopTech BBK

I have had my 355 mm (14 inch) StopTech Brakes on for four months now, so I thought it would be a good time to write an evaluation of them.

Other than the bedding-in procedure, I have not had an opportunity to "really" put the brakes through its paces - just regular stop and go driving in the city and a little on the highway.

I did not test the stopping distances before the BBK brake install or after so I don't have any numbers to indicate if the StopTechs stop the car in a shorter distance compared to the OEM brakes. Theoretically they should since there is greater rotor and pad area in the front. I am not an engineer and my comments don't really carry any weight in that regard.

I also replaced the rear brake lines with Stainless Steel braided lines.

The most important feedback I can give is the brake feel. Needless to say the brakes feel absolutely awesome! When you touch the brakes, the feel is very linear and firm. The brakes are not "overly" sensitive. Easy to modulate. It feels as if when I apply the brakes a parachute has opened up behind me - the car just STOPS!!

Would I do this upgrade again if I could go back in time? Absolutely!

Does it make the car stop in a shorter distance? I don't know.

Awesome brake feel, needless to say awesome looks as well. Whenever I am stopped at a light drivers or passengers to my left or right always seem to focus on the brakes and then the rest of the car. My wheels are a very "open" style and the brakes are very visible.