RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Looking for Some Advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-19, 03:18 PM
DJWLDW
Pole Position

Received 420 Likes on 312 Posts
Default Looking for Some Advice

Let me start out by saying I am not a RX owner however I am the proud owner of a 2010 LS 460L and a 2006 SC 430. I am looking at a 2000 RX 300 a one owner with 69,000 on the clock. My grand daughter has been driving her fathers Range Rover for the last 2 years and he wants it back so he does not need to drive his 2005 SC 430 during bad weather. I have been doing some research for him and found the RX 300 of which I have no knowledge of. The lexus driver web page is down so I can not check the service history. The GD is a sophomore at UNCW and wants some type of SUV after driving the Range Rover for the last 2 years. Is there any reasons not to look at the 2000 RX 300? It is a little overpriced at $6998 but if he could get it at $6000 it might not be a bad deal pending on the Service History.

Thanks for any input

Dennis
Old 06-17-19, 03:58 PM
ricco750
Pit Crew

Received 38 Likes on 29 Posts

I assume you are looking for advice as to whether the RX is a good all-weather and snow/ice car. I can tell you it's the best snow car I have ever driven, even better than a 4wd full-size Bronco I used to have. Many people are customizing RX's...lifts, big tires, etc...for off-road adventures. I assume you are looking at an AWD, which is what mine is. I'll bet it's better in performance than the Range Rover...and a hell of a lot easier and less expensive to fix, if necessary. Without hesitation, I highly recommend it.
Old 06-17-19, 07:25 PM
DJWLDW
Pole Position

ricco750