Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

You think YOU'RE nervous behind the wheel?

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-18, 05:49 PM
mmarshall
Lexus Fanatic

Received 83 Likes on 82 Posts
Default You think YOU'RE nervous behind the wheel?

Here's an interesting video. I myself have always found the enormous Chesapeake Bay Bridge, which connects U.S. Highway 50 in the suburbs of Annapolis with Kent Island, MD, to be one of the most scenic and interesting spots to drive in the Mid-Atlantic region....perhaps second only to Skyline Drive in the Blue Ridge Mountains. I loved every time I've crossed it, particularly in nice weather with good visibility forward and down from its huge hight....as a former pilot, I have also flown over it several times. Apparently, though, some people can't cope with the bridge's height, its older design with no emergency pull-offs, and mental thoughts/obsessions of collapses, earthquakes, winds, getting blown off, etc.... (and, in fact, the State Police and Maryland DOT do shut the bridge down occasionally during strong crosswinds). But most of the dangers, most of the time, under most conditions, are more in people's minds than anything else....especially with a reasonably competent driver.