Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

5-10mph over or go the speed limit?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-18, 09:42 PM
theory816
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 5-10mph over or go the speed limit?

I maintain the speed limit at all time. Give me a good reason why you shouldn't also.
Old 06-15-18, 02:32 AM
Och
Lexus Champion

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Quick, get this man a cookie.
Old 06-15-18, 03:26 AM
geko29
Super Moderator
Senior Moderator

Received 309 Likes on 237 Posts

I drive in a manner that is safe for myself, my vehicle, and those around me; while simultaneously unlikely to draw the attention of law enforcement. Speed limits are set for the lowest common denominator. My car's brakes and tires are dramatically better than average (Six piston calipers and aggressive pads over large slotted/drilled rotors; Pilot SuperSport tires), and I'm an above-average driver like everyone else .

Not only have I not had a speeding ticket or at-fault accident since my teenage years (well over half a million miles ago), I've not had an accident that occurred while my vehicle has been in motion in that entire time. For nearly half of the incidents, my vehicle has been empty.
Old 06-15-18, 03:46 AM
jrmckinley
Pole Position

Received 400 Likes on 272 Posts

Originally Posted by theory816
I maintain the speed limit at all time. Give me a good reason why you shouldn't also.
I don't mind you going exactly the speed limit, I just hope you are in any lane other than the left lane - especially on a highway. If you're in the left lane going the speed limit, you're making the road more dangerous for everyone else.
Old 06-15-18, 05:48 AM
Johnhav430
Lexus Fanatic

Received 372 Likes on 346 Posts

We were just in MD/DC/VA. I actually attempt to go no more than 4 mph over there. I found that my behavior irritated many people--I don't like to do that, and it's not intentional, but I don't want any speed cam tix.