Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Complete Suspension Refresh/Overhaul

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-16, 08:10 AM
LexusK
Racer

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Complete Suspension Refresh/Overhaul

After 18 years and 132k miles, I've decided to say screw it and replace everything. I've only done balljoints so far in 2010 at 60k miles, so I'll probably redo them now. Can you guys recommend who to go to for each of the following? I might even just do OEM if its better to. The car will be staying with me until it gives out.

Balljoints - OEM
Steering Rack Bushings - Daizen/TM?
Control Arms (upper and lower) - ?
Control Arm Bushings - ?
Castor Arms - ?

Am I missing anything else?
Do I do the rears too?
I'm a noob with the suspension. Don't know too much but I think castor and control arms are the same? Whats the complete name for each of these parts and are there alternate names for them?

Last edited by LexusK; 03-15-16 at 08:34 AM.
Old 03-15-16, 11:07 AM
airahcaz
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Thanks for starting this - I also incidentally have just a touch above 132K miles!
Old 03-15-16, 11:54 PM
SpectraBlu
Advanced

Received 51 Likes on 43 Posts

Originally Posted by LexusK
After 18 years and 132k miles, I've decided to say screw it and replace everything. I've only done balljoints so far in 2010 at 60k miles, so I'll probably redo them now. Can you guys recommend who to go to for each of the following? I might even just do OEM if its better to. The car will be staying with me until it gives out.

Balljoints - OEM
Steering Rack Bushings - Daizen/TM?
Control Arms (upper and lower) - ?
Control Arm Bushings - ?
Castor Arms - ?

Am I missing anything else?
Do I do the rears too?
I'm a noob with the suspension. Don't know too much but I think castor and control arms are the same? Whats the complete name for each of these parts and are there alternate names for them?