SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Replace ML amplifier with aftermarket unit?

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-19, 01:46 PM
LDM
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Replace ML amplifier with aftermarket unit?

Newbie here. Have read many of the voluminous threads re failed Mark Levinson amplifiers. I have confirmed my unit has stopped working (dash unit checks okay). United Radio currently charging $675 for repair. There’s currently a new ML amp (new old inventory) on eBay for $475. With all the posts about ML failures I think I would be throwing good money after bad.
Is there a thread here that discusses swapping out the ML amp with an aftermarket unit? Believe the amp interfaces with the navigation unit - but we use smartphones. I have also unplugged the mast antenna and only rely on the windshield antenna. Also looking to maintain original look of dashboard - hence the desire to replace just the amp. I’m sure I’m leaving something out here.
Thanks in advance.
Old 06-13-19, 04:00 AM
Bgw70
Lexus Test Driver

Received 853 Likes on 686 Posts

Originally Posted by LDM
Newbie here. Have read many of the voluminous threads re failed Mark Levinson amplifiers. I have confirmed my unit has stopped working (dash unit checks okay). United Radio currently charging $675 for repair. There’s currently a new ML amp (new old inventory) on eBay for $475. With all the posts about ML failures I think I would be throwing good money after bad.
Is there a thread here that discusses swapping out the ML amp with an aftermarket unit? Believe the amp interfaces with the navigation unit - but we use smartphones. I have also unplugged the mast antenna and only rely on the windshield antenna. Also looking to maintain original look of dashboard - hence the desire to replace just the amp. I’m sure I’m leaving something out here.
Thanks in advance.
I have two SC430s, 2002 and 2007. So far so good, like so many other owners.
question, are all of the speakers OEM or aftermarket?