SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Painting Brake Calipers Using G2 Product

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-13, 08:31 AM
Autoplak
Pit Crew

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Painting Brake Calipers Using G2 Product

I've read the many threads, however, I have not read about this question. Probably obvious, however, I'm a bit reluctant to load all 4 wheels up of a 2002 SC430.

Has anyone painted 2 wheels using G2 product one day and the other 2 the next day? Or is it to be all 4 on the same day because the paint cures.

Any tips on the jack process? One side then the other or both front then back. Stands under suspension or jack area of frame.
Old 07-19-13, 02:49 PM
hlthlnk
Intermediate

Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts

It's a good question and I hope a mechanic on the forum can actually talk about the subject.
I'm not a jack expert, but have jacked my car up more times then I care to count, this is my story...
I have one hydraulic jack and two jack stands and have tried every combination possible, 1. One tire at a time, 2. Jacked driver side tire put stand under it and then jacked the passenger side and placed the other jack stand. 3. Jacked the rear driver side placed a stand there then jacked the driver front and placed the other jack stand. You get the picture, I have not had a problem so far or found it easier one way or another. I think having two tires on the ground and stands on the other two corners is safer, just my personal feeling. Good luck.
Old 07-19-13, 03:53 PM
Autoplak
Pit Crew

Thank you hlthlnk, however, I'm a bit confused
"1. One tire at a time, 2. Jacked driver side tire put stand under it (assume front DS)
and then jacked the passenger side and placed the other jack stand. (Assume front PS)
3. Jacked the rear driver side placed a stand there then (I got that)
jacked the driver front and placed the other jack stand. (? or passenger rear ?)

So the 2 front and then the 2 rear..........

Also, can someone comment on the G2 useful life?