SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

No Front License Plate...

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-02, 08:28 PM
DropTop430
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No Front License Plate...

In Ontario, Canada you must have a plate on both the front and back of the car by law. I have been driving my SC430 for 15 months and have only gotten one comment from a police officer about it. He asked me where the front plate was and I asked him what he was talking about, told him that it must have fallen off, he laughed and told me that I can be ticketed for not having one.

I was just wondering if any other drivers have gone with the no plate option (other than people living in states or provinces where it is not the law)

I've seen several SC's around with front plates and in my mind it totally takes away from the look. I love the clean front end...
Old 06-19-02, 09:36 PM
anthracitetarga
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Here in VA its the law too. My dads GS has these lil "dimples" for the plate to go into, and since he wants the plate in there (b/c it's the law as he says), I'm gonna run down to the Lexus dealership and buy a Lexus frame to make it look somewhat nice.
On my SC, however, there are no "dimples" whatsoever, but even if there were it wouldn't matter. THERE IS NO WAY I AM GOING TO PUT HOLES IN MY CAR. I think when I'm down at the dealership, I'm gonna see if they have any of those magnet devices that they use to put polates on when people test drive cars, etc. and somehow use that for the front.
Old 06-19-02, 10:20 PM
Hermosa
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I drive my SC300 with no front or rear license plate. I keep that little purchase tag on as long as possible. My SC400 has no front plate but does have a rear plate. I have been ticketed in Santa Monica though for it.
Old 06-20-02, 03:52 AM
1NICESC430
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts