SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

1997 vs 1998

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-17, 07:09 PM
ISsparta
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 vs 1998

So hi guys I'm pretty new to club Lexus and I have found myself in a sort've debate that I could use some outside opinions. And disclaimer ( I am poor college kid and I am in search of a car that is reliable mechanically such as 2jz/1uz would love to turbo or super charge but simply can't afford to maintain such significant upgrades so just read this knowing that)

so in July just like 100,000's of other people my beautiful 2002 is300 was destroyed by hurricane Harvey in Houston Texas and I'm in the market for another 90's era Lexus because they are just the freaking best.

ive decided I would really like an sc400 simply for the bulletproof v8 since I already had the 2jzGE but there's a problem, I would love to have a 1998 sc400 for the vvti and 290hp and the 5 speed manual shifters that my is300 had but they are Just so Hard to find and can't find hardly any even looking outside of Texas but I can find a bunch of 97-

so the debate is here, should I wait save up more money and just hold out looking for an sc400 98' or would it be just as good going with a clean 97 sc400 with 260 HP no vvti but have intakes exhaust and other mods that get me back up to the power I was missing without compromising reliability? Would having a 97 with a few mods be just as fun as a 98 sc400? Would I really notice the lack of the VVti? If so what mods would you suggest for an amateur mechanic? I'm really stuck wish there were just more 98's out there. LMK
Old 09-21-17, 08:35 PM
Zerodrag
Pole Position

Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts

If you are set on the 1UZ, wait for a 98+. Not only the added power, but the extra gear (5sp vs 4sp auto) and shifter assembly are the benefits.
Old 09-21-17, 10:43 PM
Shayy
Intermediate

Received 132 Likes on 47 Posts