SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Buying 1J Swapped 300, Opinions?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-15, 09:13 AM
lexuscfour
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Buying 1J Swapped 300, Opinions?

I'm interested in buying this car off of Craigslist. Is there anything I should know or ask? I've had 3 SC400 over the past 3 years so I'm more than familiar and comfortable with the 1UZ and all it's quirks. I have no experience with the JZ series and wanted to know if there's anything that I should be aware of or watch out for. How reliable are these engines and those twin turbos?

According to the seller, this car is bone stock, straight swap. Seller also mentioned that someone backed up into the front bumper last week and it would need a repaint. Got a quote of $470 to repaint and realign the bumper, but there's a 95 DWP on CL for $150. Are there any clearance issues with that bumper? Also, the hood has a dent on it and looking at the pics looks kind of rough. I'm going to see the car either today or tomorrow. Any help would be great.

http://miami.craigslist.org/mdc/cto/5230180341.html
Old 10-06-15, 10:45 AM
Studiogeek
Lexus Champion

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts

I don't get good vibes.
Not enough info on the build and parts. A car built with love, is generally accompanied by an owner anxious to type about it. I don't think a swap can be "bone stock". Some supporting mods are needed to do it right in most cases.

Only said it runs "pretty good". Given peoples tendency to over sell, this car MAY run poorly. Stock twins usually blow first on a JDM GTE.

If you wait, 8-10K and some time will reveal some gems.

Don't rush, you have to live with and pay for haste during this stage.

Last edited by Studiogeek; 10-06-15 at 02:08 PM.
Old 10-06-15, 01:30 PM
mikef
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts