SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Sc300 1jz Upgrade path questions. Forum Noobie

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-12, 06:33 PM
SoarerKid
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Sc300 1jz Upgrade path questions. Forum Noobie

Hello fellow lexus folk! I'm a newbie to the forums and the Sc300 platform but not to the engine building/tuning game. A little of my background history.

I have a 9 second 2nd gen awd eagle talon tsi awd as my race car. Car made 723awhp @ 37psi on an old T04Z on my hyundai 2.4L block. Built and tuned myself

My mr2 made 319 whp with a stock 3rd gen swap 3sgte I swapped myself (this was my daily driver)
and I also have had a few 240sx swapping/using the Sr20det installs and an FC rx7 with a 13Brew swap from a cosmo front clip.

Anyways I recently sold my Mr2 because I have owned it for the last 6 years and wanted to start a different project and a new Daily Driver. I recently picked up a 92 Sc300 stock w58 5spd for a great price about a month ago. The body is in perfect condition and is mechanically sound. The only problem is that is has a 4x4 looking stance, airbag light is on and the paint( champagne color) is starting to shed the clear coat in some place)

Ok, onto the upgrade path questions. So far I've been exploring the forums for the past month reading tons of useful info. But I've run into a few problems which I have questions for.
I've decided to go the 1jz route as I am a fan of going with the engine that the car came with stock in japan. Plus I ran into a friend that sold me a very low mileage 1jz (25,000 kilometers) he had personally found in japan and shipped to the states.

Engine mods:
Stock (practically brand new 1jz) shortblock
Ported and Polished Head from Saum Engineering (local race shop)
BC titanium springs and retainers
BC 272 cams
arp head studs
arp main studs
arp rod bolts
brand new crank /rod bearings
hks head gasket
Titan Cam Gears
Greddy timing belt
Fluidampr crank pulley