New to the boards and looking for SC400

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-12, 08:55 AM
SRTSC
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the boards and looking for SC400

Hello,
I am new to boards and wanted to say hello to all those in the Chicagoland area. I do not have a Lexus just yet but am actively looking for a clean, well maintained pre 1997 SC400 if you know of any. This car will be used as my daily driver to and from work mostly. I have a 2010 Detonator Yellow Dodge Challenger SRT-8 6 speed that I use as my weekend/fun car. This sounds like a great board, and I look forward to learning as much as I can about these fine cars prior to purchase.
Old 06-24-12, 02:45 PM
passnu2
Lexus Fanatic

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

saw a few on graigslist this am searching around for cars. a few looked worth looking into around the ~5k price range.
Old 06-24-12, 02:57 PM
SRTSC
Rookie

Originally Posted by passnu2
saw a few on graigslist this am searching around for cars. a few looked worth looking into around the ~5k price range.
Let me know which ones. Thanks to Dominick, I saved myself frombig trouble. I was very close to buying that blue 1993 SC400 out of Hoffman Estates for 4K with the incorrect odometer. Checked some things he suggested to check, and all was well until I tried to accelerate in reverse over 10mph. Trans was slipping bad in reverse. I walked away. Thanks to this board, I knew what to look for. Thusfar, I have looked at two and passed on two. That one in Alsip for 3,500, the guy was evasive about records and never got back to me with the VIN. That one for $5,500 in Bolingbrook looks decent in the pics he sent, checks out in Carfax, but no maintenance records really with that one either. The front seats are really cracked up in the pics too... Plus, when your grammar is so bad, it is hard to read to your ad, that is a red flag for me.
Old 06-24-12, 03:01 PM
SRTSC
Rookie