SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Timing Belt. To Do or Not to Do

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-11, 06:10 PM
RemSteele
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Timing Belt. To Do or Not to Do

95 SC300 64K original miles. Should I do the timing Belt or not. Is this a non-interference engine?. Is there any way to check it if I pull the cover off. Can I do it my self (and my local guy). Do I need a tool to keep the cams line up? Seal etc.

Thanks,
RJ

Last edited by RemSteele; 06-26-11 at 06:30 PM.
Old 06-26-11, 06:14 PM
HiPSI
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Considering the belt is 16 years old, it'd probably wouldn't hurt but I doubt it's an absolute necessity. Pull the cam cover off the front and see how the belt looks.
Old 06-26-11, 08:25 PM
bohemio
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'd also like to know if anyone has replaced their own timing belt. I'm no mechanic but I've turned a few wrenches on my cars. Would you guys recommend taking it to a shop?
Old 06-26-11, 11:16 PM
bleedspeed
Lead Lap

if you have a garage and air compressor with impact then it would not be hard. otherwise take it to a shop. and another thing you need to realize is that since your doing the timing belt you may as well go ahead and do the waterpump,drive belt tensioner,harmonic balancer, these are things that are important! and should be done at the same time as the timing belt. the harmonic balancer has a life of 15 years and when it starts to go bad it could be real bad! like it explodes into little pieces shooting metal into the engine and basically killing your sc. trust me when i bought mine the pulley was chipped and warped and loose. i recommend an ati super damper harmonic balancer. good luck.
Old 06-27-11, 01:17 AM
OG Dada
Lexus Champion

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts

I don't know if this would be of any help.

http://www.toymods.org.au/forums/sho...20water%20pump